Handmade Christmas

This year I looked at Christmas a bit differently.  MB had told me about Groupon a few weeks earlier, so I decided to give my children experiences for the holiday. Each child and their partner got a weekend away, and for those with children, it included babysitting. One was at an Adirondack Lodge, one at a luxury resort, and the other was a seaside inn.  I think this idea is a keeper, and can’t wait to find new fun for next year.

The grandchildren, of course got festively wrapped packages.  But all of the other people in my life got handmade Christmas.  There were cookies and granola, lasagna meat or veggie, stuffed peppers, and vanilla extract.  I think the recipients loved it.. I know I enjoyed making it for sure.

I made 16 pints of home made vanilla extract, I only have one left…and I am keeping it!

Image

 

Vanilla Extract

 

1 pint (2 cups) of brandy, vodka, or bourbon,  ( I used vodka)

3-4 vanilla beans

Split the beans and place them in a pint jar, add the alcohol and seal the jar,

Shake the jar once a day or so, it should be ready to use in about 4-6 weeks.

The mixture will darken over time.  If you use some, pour in more alcohol and you have a never ending supply of Vanilla.  You can add more beans over time but that’s it, and it will last indefinitely.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Handmade Christmas

  1. Annette says:

    Me and DH were a recipient of handmade Christmas goodies, and they were good too! Yummo! Yummo! Thank you again!

  2. Annette Siverson says:

    I used the handmade Vanilla yesterday in a cake I baked. Delicious! Thank you yet again!

  3. Annette Siverson says:

    I also wanted to say, because of you and MB I too am now officially a Groupon user! Thank you, I think!

Leave a Reply

