Another Snowy Day

As sometimes happens, I rolled over early this morning and Handsome Hubby, HH, was not in bed, while I do not hear him get out most times, I definitely notice he’s gone and wake up and wonder.  I waited a few moments, listened for house sounds, and down he came, grumbling…”the furnace is blowing cold air”…oh dear!  “I’m going to scrape together some wood and start a fire, and see what’s going on with furnace”  I tried to turn over, but my heart got the best of me, so in my nightgown over jeans, wearing his new big boots (!!!) downstairs I trekked, out the back door and over to the very small, still a little green but let’s use it anyway woodpile, and wheeled/half dragged the wheelbarrow back to the house and into the basement , by now HH has a nice fire going and things are warming up.

HH recently had ankle surgery, I do not want him trekking to the woodpile…

We recently filled the fuel tank, to the brim, and cut the “cord” on burning wood.  Burning wood has been slowly trying to kill my sweet HH, he has destroyed his ankle, suffered through 2 serious bouts of Erlichiosis, a severe form of Lyme disease.  Compiled with a career in Masonry, he has had 3 back surgeries and has newly discovered a bulging disc in his back below the fusion and severe arthritis in the upper back… cutting wood is so hard on your body, and it’s not like it loads itself in and out of the back of the truck, it’s never lying close to the side of the road waiting, it never splits itself or stacks itself to dry and then hauls itself over to the house to be burned…damn stuff!

But I sure miss those nice warm floors, my feet have been cold for 2 weeks.  If we are still in this house for the winter next year…we talked about getting a trailer load of log lengths delivered, buy a splitter, sell half to pay for wood and splitter, and keep half to burn.

I just got home after working at the office for a few hours and the house is toasty warm, furnace working fine, but a fire still burning…these warm floors, oh how i’ve missed you…

Dinner tonight, I think i’ll do meatballs in the crock pot and spaghetti. But the recipe for today is …..

Applesauce cake

2 cups applesauce, homemade is best

1/2 cup shortening, like crisco

3 eggs

In a large bowl, cream together the applesauce, shortening and eggs, until light and fluffy-ish, don’t worry if you see some small pieces or shortening that looks unblended, it won’t make a difference.

Then in a separate bowl combine,

2 1/2 cups flour

1 3/4 cups sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

You can just whisk these ingredients together, turn your mixer on low and slowly pour these in, once they are completely combined, the batter is ready for the pan.  This cake doesn’t need frosting, I usually grease and flour a bundt pan, but this will also work well in a 9 x 13 pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or so, until toothpick comes out clean, less time for the 9 x 13.

When cooled, dust with confectioner’s sugar!  Moist, delicious, or as my Grandson says “yumyumyum”

The other day I made 2, 8″ layers and frosted them with light cream cheese frosting, a recipe I got from my good friend Sue, it was quite divine.

It’s a snow day, get baking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Snowy Day

  1. Annette says:

    You poor thing. And with HH (not DH like David, but HH is good!) still recovering, at least you managed to get the wood to the house. And at least it is now nice and warm. What a “snow” day! Enough, I can’t wait for Spring. But while I’m waiting it is Applesauce cake for us, perhaps make my first one over the weekend. Many thanks Suzannah!

Leave a Reply

