Hey Grandma, What’s for Dinner?

While my daughter and her husband head out for a Valentine’s dinner date tonight…tomorrow the weather is going to be crappy and I have catering plans on Friday… (I like to use a series of …’s to break up thoughts etc, you might as well get used to it) I need to think about dinner. My Cooker Kids…used to be cooker girls but now the little man likes to hang in the kitchen with Grandma while we cook dinner and sing the latest hits on the CD player… this week it is Shrek the Halls.  I know, I know but this is a Christmas every day house.  Anyway,  back to dinner, Emily will eat just about anything, but Finley is a challenge, she is going through that “I am almost 4 and I will eat nothing but pasta and mashed potatoes” ( with fresh cracked pepper) stage.  For you Charlie and Lola fans…Ocean Nibblers were mentioned the other day, do I cop out and make Fish Sticks, French Fries, and “Beans” Edamame..or do I come up with something.. I’m thinking Fish Sticks, we have some sugar cookie dough to use up to complete our Valentine’s Day Cookies, we could work on those while the other things heat in the oven…so there we have it.

But because I want to share recipes with each post I leave you with this one for the day.

Crock Pot Apple Sauce for Working Moms

Fill your crock pot with apple chucks, I just chunk off around the apple stem, leaving on the skins on,

Pour in 1/2 cup water or apple juice

Sprinkle a liberal amount of cinnamon over the top. (optional)

Sprinkle a liberal amount of white or brown sugar over the top. (optional)

Put on the lid, set the dial to low and head off to work. You could also do this over night, but the smell may have you dreaming of singing the Johnny Appleseed song as you skip across a beautiful green field.

When the apples look like all soft and deflated, it’s done. To turn this into applesauce you can either use an hand held immersion blender, ( in Cafe speak..the “Twitterbater”), or a food processor or blender and include the skins and all, this will give the sauce a nice texture and color and beefing up the fiber content at the same time, you may also use a food mill to remove the skins leaving you the sweet yummy pulp.

If you do not have any of the before mentioned tools handy, peel your apples before placing them in the crock pot, and mash to a desired consistency when done cooking.  Enjoy!

Tomorrow I will share an Applesauce Cake recipe 25 years in the making that is a family favorite of ours!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hey Grandma, What’s for Dinner?

  1. Annette says:

    I am going to try this Slow cooker applesauce. Easy, quick (fairly) and yummy. Thank you so much!

  2. Annette says:

    Oh, and I am waiting for the day when you post your absolutely delicious chocolate cake recipe. Or maybe I should just let you keep baking em! Hmmmm…..!

Leave a Reply

